It’s 4 am

The world is still

Refrigerator hums

I’m wide awake, clear headed

It’s 4 am

Cat draped on chest

Scratch his head

Paw pats face

Jelly bean toes knead away

Pokety poke – a few claws need trimming

It’s 4 am

Hum of cars on road

Wheels woosh by

Punctuated by moments of stillness

Brain whirs

It’s 4 am

Much too early to wake up

Eyes itchy

Throat feels raw

Darkness envelopes room

With the exception of

Haze of street lights

Just outside window

It’s 4 am

The world is still

With the exception

Of my brain

Stomach gurgles

What to do?

I write

Share a slice of insomnia

It’s 4 am

Much too early to wake up

and be alert

Unit above me – toilet flushes

I am not alone

With thoughts flitting through brain

Cat purrs

Content with my companionship

It’s 4 am

Any vestiges of sleep swept away

Time to start my day.

4 thoughts on “It’s 4 am

  1. It’s too early except during the SOL month when we seem to wake up earlier or stay up later for some strange reason making an hour or two extra out of each and every day! I did 4:30 today!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment