Cravings

Have you ever had a craving so strong that you just had to go out and have it?

It happened to me about a month ago.

It was a Tuesday evening after work. I beetled out of school in order to make it to a Hatha yoga class.

During opening meditation my mind wandered to what to eat for dinner. I refocused on my breath and let the thought drift away. A little while later my subconscious perked up and popped out ‘Steak!’.

What? I eat a lot of vegetarian food. The last time I had steak was over half a year ago when a friend treated me to the Keg for cat sitting for her.

I ignored my mind and welcomed the transition to standing postures.

Downward Facing Dog, Warrior, Triangle – I enjoyed the movement and welcomed the opportunity to realign my body from the kinks formed during the school day.

However, I couldn’t quite focus because my mind kept bringing up steak. My stomach soon joined the chorus by starting to growl.

steak

Steak

STEAK

The message was incessant.

Dinner was decided. But how became the next burning question. I don’t know how to cook steak. I have never made it. I could go to the grocery store after class, research a recipe . . . but by this point I was ravenously hungry.

I decided to expedite the process by simply going out for dinner.

Decision made, craving put aside, I could truly relax in Shavasana.

After class I headed to Cactus Club and was not disappointed. I ordered a four mushroom steak with mashed potatoes and asparagus. It was oh so good (but also oh so expensive).

4 thoughts on “Cravings

  1. Loved going through your yoga routine. It’s so funny how the mind can really drift away in Shavasana. And it’s also so funny when you get that demanding craving. I’ve never had a steak craving, but I frequently get cravings for chips, particularly when I attempt to avoid carbs. Namaste to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You deserved it and I’m glad to hear you figured out the best way to solve your craving. I laugh at myself when I can clear my mind during these times. Sometimes I think someone will hear my inner thoughts, just like your mind as you screamed out “steak!”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment