Crankypants

This slice is inspired by another slicer’s post about an SEL strategy that she used with a student, balloon breathing. Presently, I decided I could benefit from an SEL strategy so I pulled a favourite out of my arsenal.

Well it is 4:30 am, and I am wide awake, again, despite being tired.

What to do?

I am annoyed, irritated, and well, tired.

Time to pull an SEL strategy out of my hat. At least I’ll be less cranky by the end of it.

Maybe you have used this strategy, and if you haven’t, it is worth giving it a whirl. We all can use a brain reset sometimes.

5-4-3-2-1

Identify things, in decreasing amounts, by sight, sound, touch, smell, & taste.

See: the blinding white screen of my IPad, the dim contrast of my fingers tapping away, the dark enveloping me, the blue of my nightshirt, a strand of hair in front of my glasses

Hear: the rustle of my duvet as I readjust my legs, the occasional vehicle whooshing along the main road behind my condo, the bilateral ringing in my ears from the concussion I sustained last September, the rumble of my belly.

Feel: the pressure behind my eyes from seasonal allergies, my head propped against the headboard, warmth snuggled around my legs

Smell: immediate thought – I can’t smell any thing, but actually I can, its just from the confines of my bed I can’t. So, I’ll identify a couple of bonus things that I hear: the hum of the refrigerator kicking in, and the mad, repetitive, shotgun sneezes that just exuded from my nostrils (thank you seasonal allergies)

Taste: the pasty feeling enveloping my teeth awaiting a morning brushing

5-4-3-2-1

I am not cranky! I created a Slice!!!

Not sleepy . . .

But I’ll get up

Make a cup of tea,

Peruse, read, and comment (maybe not so articulately with a fuzzy brain) on others’ slices

And

Start my day.

Thank you SOLSC for distracting me, giving me a focus, and being less of a cranky pants about a much too early wake up.

4 thoughts on “Crankypants

  1. I’m glad that this strategy works for you! I enjoy this one as well. I find it to be the most comforting before I am giving a presentation, or taking a test. I hope the day is only up hill from here!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your slice really let us in. A vulnerable post.

    Letting us in to your early morning insomnia.
    I appreciate the way you let us into your thinking process.
    Letting us in to your senses.
    Letting us in to your morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This strategy really focuses in on noticing the small details – the strand of hair in front of your glasses, the rustle of the duvet cover – that might otherwise go quite unnoticed. So glad the writing of your slice lifted you out of crankiness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment