Lune Poetry

A Lune poem is a short poem with just three lines.​ There are two variations: one that counts syllables, and one that counts words. The name Lune, French for moon, is inspired by a crescent moon – the shape that the form of the poem imitates.

Jack Collom, an American poet, created the form that counts words..​

Each line can stand alone as a complete thought, or the lines can run into each other (known as enjambment).

Line 1: 3 words​

Line 2: 5 words​

Line 3: 3 words​

I created two poems to share with grade 2/3 students. I started the lesson by displaying the poems on the projector and asking students what they notice. They first started counting syllables. I had them compare syllable count on both poems and they realized that they aren’t the same. Students said that the poems reminded them of Haiku. I pointed out that word choice is key. You see phrases, not sentences. You paint a picture with words. I asked them to draft several poems and challenged them to write one without naming the subject. They had a lot of fun with this form of poetry.

Here are my exemplars:

   Mirrors, windows, doors​

Gateway to worlds beyond us​

   Books are transformative


   

Fluffy white fur​

Purrs contentedly – her gentle nature​

  Steals my heart​

          ©Heidi Clark, 2022

7 thoughts on “Lune Poetry

    1. I wanted a form that kids would feel successful in. It hit the spot. I never thought of using it in other contexts.

      Like

  1. I can imagine students having fun with this form of poetry. I like the idea of writing a poem but not mentioning the subject. It makes word choice all that more important to convey the subject to the reader.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment